Design Annual Submission Spotlight:
Czech and Russian Designers

CZECH REPUBLIC 1Design Firm: Direct Design                                               Designer: Peter Bankov

Peter Bankov – Theatrical Posters

Peter Bankov’s “Theatrical Posters,” a series of three posters, showcase his unconventional typography and inimitable color schemes and is a noteworthy submission to the
Design Annual 2015. Additional Czech and Russian Designers who have contributed to Graphis include Pavel Nagaev, Vlad Ermolaev of Ermolaev Branding Bureau and Vitaly Stavisky, a Silver winner in the Poster Annual 2014.

Additional Designers from Eastern Europe include Romanians Lavinia Veres, a Gold winner in the Poster Annual 2013Octavian Horvath, a Gold winner in the Poster Annual 2012,
Ciprian Bădălan, a Silver winner in the Design Annual 2014, Cristian Petre, a Silver winner in the Design Annual 2014 and Christian ‘Kit’ Paul, a Gold winner in the
Design Annual 2012Nikolay Kovalenko, a Gold winner in the Poster Annual 2012 for his piece, “drawing pin” hails from Ukraine.

Screen Shot 2014-03-13 at 10.25.48 AMDesign Firm: Direct Design

Zdeněk Ziegler, a master of Czech graphic design, was featured in Graphis Issue 315 by
Jane Perlez
. Ziegler was not allowed to travel the U.S. until 1985, when he visited
Colorado State University
for a poster competition.

“I couldn’t believe how stupid the design in the streets and the shops was,” he told Graphis. In 1990, Ziegler was granted a professorship, allowed to head a prestigious department and teach students at the Academy of Arts, Architecture and Design in Prague. He was chosen by popular demand, according to Perlez.

“Ziegler, an intense man of huge enthusiasm who during the Cold War put Czech poster design on the international map, was the logical choice to reclaim the country’s preeminent school,” Perlez wrote. To check out more work by Bankov and his firm, Design Depot, click here.

The Design competition features the most compelling and influential design of the year. Gold and Platinum awards, along with winning entries, will be published in the Design Annual 2015. Submit your work to the Design Annual 2015 competition here.

Author: Matt Castello

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *