2010 FIFA World Cup: Team Logos

FIFA World Cup 1

With the FIFA World Cup stealing the globe’s collective attention right now, we decided to take a look at the team logos of all 32 nations playing in South Africa.

Each team wears these emblems on their jerseys, typically on the left chest. Much of the design is symbolic of the country’s heritage, such as England’s three lions or Côte d’Ivoire’s elephant. The design can also denote past victories. The presence of stars for some countries represents FIFA World Cup titles — five for Brazil, four for Italy and three for Germany, for example.

Interestingly enough, the U.S. team’s logo has three stars. We, at Graphis, would like to know if anyone knows why. Also, what are your favorite World Cup team logos? Post your comments below.

FIFA World Cup 2 FIFA World Cup 3 FIFA World Cup 4

Author: Kayla Harris for Graphis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *